Saints Alive! TV Blog

Author Archive

SAINTS ALIVE! Wins 2012 Gabriel® Award for Best Religious Television Program in National Release

by on May.03, 2012, under Latest News, Press Releases

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

WINSTED, CT May 3, 2012 – Arcadia Films announced today its television series SAINTS ALIVE! has won a 2012 Gabriel® Award in the Religious Television National Release category of the Catholic Academy for Communication Arts Professionals’ competition. SAINTS ALIVE! is an 11-part, 28-minute television series that features 10 of the great saints of history who return from heaven to be interviewed and questioned on some of the most important issues of our time.

“Both Stephen and I are honored to receive the Gabriel® Award,” said Arcadia Films Executive Producer and CEO Richard Payne. “SAINTS ALIVE! is a living testimony to the fact that sainthood is NOT a negation of human life but rather its abundance by God’s grace.”

SAINTS ALIVE! was filmed at the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception in Waterbury, CT as a co-production with EWTN Global Catholic Network. Filming was made possible through the generosity of the Archbishop Henry Mansell, Rector Fr. John Bevins, the Knights of Columbus and hundreds of volunteers. The program aired in September 2011 on EWTN. The Catholic Academy for Communication Arts Professionals will present the Gabriel® Award at the Catholic Media Convention in Indianapolis in June 2012.

Richard and Stephen Payne, co-directors of SAINTS ALIVE! are veterans of the Catholic television industry. Doug Keck, Peter Gagnon and John Elson of EWTN are executive producers, Richard Payne and Stephen Payne are producers, Jim Morlino is Associate Producer and Ahmet Sesigurgil is the director of photography for the series. The cast includes: Janice Bishop (St. Avila), Ross Degraw (St. Bellarmine), Stephen Diacrussi (St. Gregory), Michael Engberg (St. Aquinas), Mark Epperson (St. Augustine), Michelle Kafel (St. Siena), Ruth Kavanagh (St. Galgani), Jim Mornino (Fr. McGivney), Richard Payne (Host/Interviewer), Thierry Paulmier (St. Montfort), Taylor Valentine (St. Vianney), and Raymond Volpe (St. Irenaeus).

Arcadia Films is a world-renowned Catholic production company that creates cutting-edge digital content across multiple platforms, having produced more than 120 films over the past 20 years. SAINTS ALIVE! is Arcadia’s latest TV series for EWTN Global Catholic Network. For more information visit: http://arcadiafilms.com or http://saintsalive.tv.

FOR DETAILS CONTACT
Stephen Payne
Arcadia Films Ltd. Inc.
860.379.4566 or 860.601.8198

RELATED LINKS: http://youtube.com/ArcadiaFilmsLTD

DOWNLOAD THIS PRESS RELEASE: SAINTS ALIVE! 2012 Gabriel Award

###
2 Comments :, , more...

SAINTS ALIVE! lead article in National Catholic Register

by on Sep.05, 2011, under Latest News

WATERBURY, Conn. — On a cold New England night last February, Venerable Father Michael McGivney was standing in the sanctuary of the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception in Waterbury, Conn., speaking about saints.

“God desires nothing less than that all of us be saints,” he said to hundreds of young and old filling the pews. Then he hinted how several experts can help the faithful achieve that goal: “Now saints of the Church have come to visit.”

Indeed, he had brought with him the likes of Teresa of Avila, Jean Marie Vianney, Irenaeus of Lyons, Catherine of Siena, Gregory the Great and others. For three nights, the saints took turns answering questions from individuals on how we should live a good Catholic life despite the world’s challenges to faith today.

Read more…

 

2 Comments : more...


SAINTS ALIVE! on EWTN Live

by on Sep.05, 2011, under Latest News

WATCH Richard & Stephen Payne on EWTN Live w/ Fr. Mitch Pacwa discussing “SAINTS ALIVE!”

 

1 Comment :, more...

SAINTS ALIVE! Producers to Appear on Sunday Night Prime & EWTN Live in August!

by on Aug.09, 2011, under Press Releases

Arcadia Films Ltd. Inc.
PRESS RELEASE

August 9, 2011

For Information, Please Contact:
Stephen Payne
Vice President and Producer
Arcadia Films Ltd. Inc.
5 Stadler Heights
Winsted, CT 06098-2095 USA
(860) 379-4566 – Media Contact
stephen@arcadiafilms.com

In preparation for the world broadcast premiere of SAINTS ALIVE!, don’t miss Richard and Stephen Payne, the producers of the new series, on EWTN’s:

Sunday Night Prime with Fr. Benedict Groeschel
Sunday, August 14th at 7 PM ET
Encore – Mon Aug 15th 2AM ET & 9AM ET, Sat Aug 20th 5PM ET

EWTN Live with Fr. Mitch Pacwa
Wednesday, August 31st at 8 PM ET
Encore – Thu Sept 1st 1AM ET & 9AM ET, Sun Sept 4th 4AM ET


SAINTS ALIVE! Producers with Father Benedict Groeschel on Sunday Night Prime and EWTN Live in August!

Watch the new teaser trailer.

Leave a Comment :, more...

The World Television Premiere of SAINTS ALIVE! on EWTN

by on Jul.29, 2011, under Press Releases

Arcadia Films Ltd. Inc.
PRESS RELEASE

July 14, 2011


For Information, Please Contact:
Stephen Payne
Vice President and Producer
Arcadia Films Ltd. Inc.
5 Stadler Heights
Winsted, CT 06098-2095 USA
(860) 379-4566 – Media Contact
stephen@arcadiafilms.com

SAINTS ALIVE!, a new series from Arcadia Films, the producers of the popular series Saints Speak, Parable & Eucharist, will make its world television premiere on September 4th, 2011 on EWTN Global Catholic Network.

Ten of the greatest saints of history return from heaven to The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception in Waterbury, Connecticut. There they offer inspired answers to some of the most pressing questions of our troubled age. Their saintly lives span the two thousand year history of the Church. A dedicated repertory group of talented actors bring alive these heroes for hard times and share with us their perennial wisdom.

The saints are welcomed to town by Venerable Father Michael J. McGivney, the founder of the Knights of Columbus. He leads them to the parish into which he was born and where he learned to live his Catholic faith. Saints included in the series are: Irenaeus of Lyons, Augustine of Hippo, Robert Bellarmine, Teresa of Avila, Jean Marie Vianney, Gemma Galgani, Thomas Aquinas, Louis Marie de Montfort, Catherine of Siena, and Gregory the Great.

The series of half-hour programs is hosted by its producer/writer Richard J. Payne, President of Arcadia Films, and the Founding Editor in Chief of The Classics of Western Spirituality.

Showtimes for Sunday, September 4th
10:30AM (Eastern), 9:30AM (Central), 8:30AM (Mountain), 7:30AM (Pacific)

Showtimes for Monday, September 5th
6PM (Eastern), 5PM (Central), 4PM (Mountain), 3PM (Pacific)

Showtimes for Tuesday, September 6th
4AM (Eastern), 3AM (Central), 2AM (Mountain), 1AM (Pacific)

Showtimes for Wednesday, September 7th
10PM (Eastern), 9PM (Central), 8PM (Mountain), 7PM (Pacific)

Showtimes for Saturday, September 10th
4:30PM (Eastern), 3:30PM (Central), 2:30 (Mountain), 1:30PM (Pacific)

A new show each week at the same times.

Watch the NEW teaser trailer at SAINTS ALIVE! SNEAK PEEK.

-end-
Leave a Comment :, more...

Sneak peek on big screen

by on Jul.02, 2011, under Latest News, Press Releases, Saints Alive! Events

Be Among the First to Encounter
the NEW SERIES on the BIG SCREEN in HD

SAINTS ALIVE!

See the NEW teaser video!
Synopsis of Sneak Peek

See it before it premieres on EWTN at

NEW VENUE – John F. Kennedy High School Auditorium
422 Highland Ave
Waterbury, CT

Friday August 19th 7pm

Admission is free. Seating is first come first serve.

1 Comment : more...

Crossroads’ “Behind the Scenes” Story on Saints Alive!

by on Feb.11, 2011, under Latest News, Saints Alive! Events

Crossroads’ “behind the scenes” story on Saints Alive! will air on Saturday (tomorrow), February 12, 2011 at 10:30 a.m. on WCCT-TV 20. Alternately, you can visit www.ortv.org, and then click on Crossroads Magazine. Starting tonight, and until next Friday, it will be available by clicking on the blue Crossroads icon found in the middle of the Crossroads page.

After next week, the show will be moved to the archives, found under the date February 12, 2011. You will need Real Player to watch, which is free at real.com.

Also, a story about the March for Life is available in the archives under the date January 29, 2011.

Jason Calvi
Reporter/Writer-Crossroads Magazine ● Producer-That’s the Spirit
Office of Radio & Television of the Archdiocese of Hartford
15 Peach Orchard Rd, Prospect, CT 06712-1052
Tel. (203) 758-7367 ● Fax (203) 758-7371 ● E-mail: calvij@ortv-hartford.org
Leave a Comment :, , , more...

Saints Alive! Post Production Begins

by on Feb.09, 2011, under Latest News

We’d like to thank everyone again, especially Msgr. Bevins, the Knights of Columbus, the Office of the Mayor for the City of Waterbury, the Waterbury Police Department, Tamberelli Digital, and all the volunteers and their families who sacrificed their time working tirelessly over the weekend to make this special production a success.

Now that we’ve just completed the filming of the Saints in McGiveny Hall and the evening Q&A sessions in the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception, post production for the new EWTN television series Saints Alive! has officially begun.

We’ve also posted a behind the scenes photo gallery of the Saints Alive Production Team in action.

Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

Attention EWTN Viewers Living in the Waterbury, Connecticut area? Here’s Your Chance to Be Part of an EWTN Production

by on Jan.15, 2011, under Press Releases

EWTN
Global Catholic Network
PRESS RELEASE

January 16, 2011


For Information, Please Contact:
Michelle Johnson
Director of Communications
EWTN Global Catholic Network
5817 Old Leeds Road
Irondale, Alabama 35210-2198 USA
(205) 795-5769 – Office
(205) 441-6248 – Cell
(205) 795-5781 – Fax
mjohnson@ewtn.com

Irondale, AL (EWTN) – Have you always wanted to be part of a live studio audience? Do you secretly wish you could meet a saint? Now, Waterbury, Connecticut area residents can do both!

EWTN Global Catholic Network has commissioned a series of television programs from Arcadia Films, Ltd. called "Saints Alive!" The program will feature 10 of the great saints of history who return from heaven to be interviewed and questioned about some of the most important issues of our time. You’ll be totally captivated by their holy wit and wisdom!

"I’ve wanted to do a series like this for some time," said EWTN Executive Vice President Doug Keck. "This promises the kind of show that is so much fun the audience won’t even realize how much they are learning."

Filming will take place from 6 p.m. ET to 9 p.m. ET, Feb. 5-7 at the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception in Waterbury, Conn. If you’d like to be part of the creation of this series, you can register online for FREE at HTTP://SAINTSALIVE.TV.

In addition to the filming of the series itself, each night will begin with a short talk by a special guest. Father Benedict Groeschel will be the special guest at the Feb. 5 filming, which will feature St. Augustine of Hippo, St. Gemma Galgani, and St. Gregory the Great. Fr. Andrew Apostoli will be the special guest at the Feb. 6 filming, which will feature St. Louis de Montfort, St. Thomas Aquinas, St. Teresa of Avila and St. Robert Bellarmine. The Feb. 7 filming, whose special guest has yet to be announced, will feature St. Catherine of Siena, St. Irenaeus of Lyons and St. Jean Vianney.

EWTN’s website, www.ewtn.com, will list times and dates when programs are completed and scheduled to air. The entire series will eventually be made available to families, schools, and religious education classes through the EWTN Religious Catalogue (www.ewtnreligiouscatalogue.com).

EWTN Global Catholic Network, in its 30th year, is available in over 160 million television households in more than 140 countries and territories. With its direct broadcast satellite television and radio services, AM & FM radio networks, worldwide short-wave radio station, Internet website www.ewtn.com and publishing arm, EWTN, is the largest religious media network in the world.

-end-
1 Comment more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Blogroll

A few highly recommended websites...

Archives

All entries, chronologically...